How many times should I feed my Dumbo Rat

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Noel

Hi everyone! I'm new to being a Mom to a rat! I've had him for 10 days now & I'm totally in love! And before someone says it, yes I'm getting another one. Just have to wait a bit. Anyway Rinky ( thats my baby rat), lets me know when he's hungry by either peering out thru the bars of his cage & cries or nips my finger. He doesn't bite hard, just enough to get his point across. Anyway, how many times a day should I be feeding him. He's almost 10 weeks old.

He should have food available all the time, he will eat when hungry and leave the rest for later. Usually in the box of food your giving them you will see what quantity of food you should give them per day. For example mine says 15g per rat so I give my girls 30g per day. I fill their bowl at night and let it be for the rest of the day then give then again at night replace the food with new one!

He should have food available all the time, he will eat when hungry and leave the rest for later. Usually in the box of food your giving them you will see what quantity of food you should give them per day. For example mine says 15g per rat so I give my girls 30g per day. I fill their bowl at night and let it be for the rest of the day then give then again at night replace the food with new one!
Thank you oasisandbambi! Yes, my food says 2 tablespoons. Question, are his treats extra food then?

People usually make the (low protien) rat block available at all times (the 2 recommended are oxbow and Harlan Teklad 2014)
and then feed a variety of vegs once or twice a day, and give occasional healthy treats like berries, a piece of fruit, cooked whole grains, organic pumpkin seeds, etc