Help Me Choose Euthanasia Method

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FeloniousMonk

I am a nurse and I have 2 male rats about 3 years old. This morning I went to check in with some breakfast and saw my rat Franklin’s testicles were swollen and a little red/purple. I take him out of the cage and to my horror the back of his scrotum had ruptured and hard giant lumps of feces were sticking out. Immediately I knew this was a scrotal fecal fistula, (rectoscrotal fistula as we call it in health care) and for a little animal like this, a death sentence.
I moped around for a half hour not knowing what to do. This was my very first rat. He is a pretty special little guy. Just months old I had taught him to do spins, beg with his hands together, jump to me on command, and put his toys away.

Selfishly, because I knew better, I had him sit for an hour in a warm bath to see if I could loosen anything up and attempt a debridement, but no go. Even if I had cleaned everything out, I would have needed to suture the rupture without any sort of anesthesia which I know would have been futile and/inhumane. As much as I love my rats, I cannot justify a several hundred to thousands of dollars in surgery, especially with a 3 year old rat.

Now I have to put him down. I called around and all the vets in my area are either permanently out of business or closed down due to Covid.
The nearest one to me is 77 miles away and they will be closed by the time I get there. They also want to charge me $180. Not cool.. it’s a rat, not a dog. Seems this is going to be on my hands.