Hello everyone!

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sutekkie

Hi there!
I'm new to the rat forums and a first-time rat owner after being a long time hamster owner. :) I have two boys, Twitch and Nibbles. They're about 3 months old and I'm not sure what their past was like but they're both super skittish and shy so I don't have that many pictures of them :)

My partner and I are working hard on taming and socializing but we look forward to joining the community and learning all we can about rat care :)
1658766077505.png

Welcome to the forums. You've come to the right place.:)

On rats and hamsters, which do you think are better pets?

Hello, Rattie!

I would have to say as a hamster, Guinea pig (not a rodent but still adorable) mouse and rat mom, hands down rats are the best. They’re small enough to be easy to care for but big enough to have more than just survival on their minds at all times. When handled lovingly and regularly and given out-of-cage time, rats are like mini dogs who love you unconditionally. They love to be pet and snuggled. Unfortunately their life span is much shorter than Guinea pigs. If you cannot handle saying goodbye after about 2.5 years, a Guinea pig is a close second for best pet.

I have mice which I saved from the feeder bin. Out of 3, 1 was a lovely companion. The other 2 are just so skittish and bitey.