Food grade Diatomaceous earth to treat mites?

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

newratowner

I was doing some research and found a few articles and videos on using food grade diatomaceous earth on your rats to get rid of mites and other parasites? Has anyone else tried this is it safe/effective? It seems to me with it being natural it would be safer than the alternative methods of treatment. I've never used it before or came into contact with it so I'm not sure if its dusty and if that dust can irritate a rats respiratory system?

I asked this on the Quick Question Thread a few weeks back.
The only reservation I had which was also stated by other members was that its a dust and it could irritate their respiratory systems.
I used it on my dogs and cat and my neighbours cat as I'm sick of chemical treatments that don't work.
I tested a small patch on one poor boys chewed up shoulder and he seems to have that spot healing up which means the mites in that spot are gone.
I did it very carefully without letting any go airborn (as best I could).
I like it and ot didn't seem to bug him at all. So I'm going to do one group carefully and see what happens. At the first sign of distress I will stop.

I'd be very concerned about it being inhaled as well. I have had good luck with Revolution so I don't think I"d ever take the chance with DE but that's just me

I'd be worried that they'd inhale the dust but there would be a delayed reaction instead of an immediate one, kind of like how coal miners get that black lung- it takes awhile before it really seriously affects them, as far as I understand, but that doesn't mean the exposure was ever safe
know what i mean?

Just because something is natural does not mean that it is safe. There are many natural things that can seriously injure/kill someone.