Considering pet rats but a little worried

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RallyfreeRat

Hello,

I’m considering getting some pet rats but I am worried about 2 things & would appreciate any info!

1. Myself getting sick from them (been reading about Seoul virus and rat bite fever)

2. My dog and cats possibly catching something from the rats.

I’m new to the rat world and have found A LOT of info online, most times it’s been conflicting info and I just want to make sure I’m making the right decision.

Are there any rat savvy vets in the Hamilton Ontario area as well?

Thank you!

Becoming ill from rats is rare, and if you become ill from any cause then getting medical care is important
Cats and dogs are predators for rats so can not be around them, although some people with dogs and cats do have pet rats.
Rats may be terrified by the smell of cats in the same home,
although some rats can catch a virus that makes them unafraid of predators like cats

Neither you nor your cats or dogs are likely to catch anything from rats

Good that you are asking about vets because having a good vet with the knowledge and experience to treat rats is essential

For important things to consider, please see https://www.ratshackforum.com/threads/thinking-of-getting-a-rat-things-to-consider.32306/

Last edited:
Hello,

I’m considering getting some pet rats but I am worried about 2 things & would appreciate any info!

1. Myself getting sick from them (been reading about Seoul virus and rat bite fever)

2. My dog and cats possibly catching something from the rats.

I’m new to the rat world and have found A LOT of info online, most times it’s been conflicting info and I just want to make sure I’m making the right decision.

Are there any rat savvy vets in the Hamilton Ontario area as well?

Thank you!