Choosing the right cage?

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kmd0627

I'm sorry if this post seems like a repeat of others, but I have tried to sort through all the cage posts here and have just ended up more confused.

After much reading, I think I have realized that my cage is not big enough for my girls. I have two females, and they are quite active. I want to give them the room they need to run around, play, and have a good quality of life. I live in the US, and a lot of the cages that I have looked at originate in the UK. Maybe I'm just not looking in the right places? I'm also a student, so I have to take the issue of cost into consideration. I'm more than willing to invest in a new cage, but I'd feel better knowing I was choosing a cage that others have found satisfying. Any suggestions?

Martin's Cages are my personal favorite. They're more affordable than most cages out there, and more practical. I currently have 2 active girls in the Martin's 680 model. The door is already big enough to fit a 12" wheel through with minimal hassle, it's easier to cart around, and *much* easier to clean. Other models, I believe you still need to request larger doors and on some models it skews the whole layout. I would recommend the flip top lid for any of their cages, though.

Thanks, everyone, for the input!

The cage I have right now is comparable to Martin's R-670. I'd really like to give the girls more room. I am toying with a few ideas: 1. Investing in a roomy Martin's cage. 2. Modifying my existing cage. My birthday is coming up, and I think I could gather the money needed to buy a second version of the cage I already own, creating double the space pretty easily. 3. I have a crafty friend who really wants to build a grotto for my girls--perhaps we could start pricing building materials.