Bloody hard bites.

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ame

I found my rat Cashew outside several weeks ago. I'm new to rats so I need some help. Cashew was constantly scratching & getting bald in places even after Revolution. Some people suggested he may be stressed or bored & getting a friend might help. The vet also suggested this. SO- the shelter called me to let me know they got some male rats in. They were brothers so I got them both. One is pretty shy but ok. The other is mean as heck. He's ok for 2-3 minutes but then he'll just bite. I'll sit on the couch and let them have a little free roam. That guy will come up and bite my leg, arm, wherever he can reach. They are not nips. I've donated pints of blood to him already. I keep reading to not pull away.. but MAN!! It hurts a lot & if I don't pull away, he'll keep biting. What is going on? Is there hope for him? I'm almost afraid to get him out of the cage now or be near him and I know that's not good. I started using oven mitts but he won't get used to my scent that way, will he? I don't know what to do. I want to give them time before introducing to Cashew. I put the cages close enough so they can smell and see each other. Oh..and.. Cashew hardly scratches himself now. Could it be the new ones that helped him?

Have you checked with the shelter to see if this is new behaviour?
Has he been checked out by a vet?
How old is he?

When a rat nips, you eeeeep and pull away
When he bites, you can put him in a cage for 3 to 5 mins as a time out.
Please see joinrats.com for ideas regarding socialization - there is a lot of good info on that site