and BAM, just like that... all six litter trained?!

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

6GirlMischief

I'm still quite new to having rats, and learning new things constantly (this board REALLY helps!) Our girls blew my mind this morning, thought I'd share and ask if anyone else has had this experience.

I got a used FN cage very recently, and love it. I discovered very quickly though that these cages aren't really designed to have litter throughout the bottom tray; this is how we kept our girls in their first 'starter' (rabbit) cage, and then the parrot cage we used once we had a bigger group. We tried several things, even zip-tying 4" high fabric 'walls' around the bottom, to keep the litter-flinging to a minimum, but every day there was a horrible mess all over the floor. Litter, poop, and food bits were everywhere. Not okay with me, and REALLY not okay with my husband, who isn't too fond of the ratties (they're officially my son's pets, and I do the cleaning/training since he's only four -- he just loves them and helps feed them).

I have learned from lurking around here that lots of you use fleece to line shelves, and often cage floors; I figured at worst, they'd chew holes in it and poop all over it and I'd have to launder fleece daily, but we would be rid of the litter mess so it was worth a try. I had some fleece around since I've been making them hammocks and toys since day one, and we hit the fabric store for some remnants to add to our supply. Then we went to the pet store for a litter box, in hopes that they might be able to learn to use one. I also picked up some new litter (made of wheat straw but much like Yesterday's News in size).