Accidental Rescue

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
H

HorseNerd

Hello everyone!

I am very new to the rat world, and newer still to rescuing animals who come running up to me in the middle of the night and need some advice.

Last night about 1 am a very sweet, skinny girl covered in some form of grease or engine coolant came running up to my husband as he went out to make sure he'd locked his car. I placed her in an old bird cage filled with Kaytee Clean and Cozy fluffy bedding for the night and resolved to call around in the morning to see if anyone had lost her.

When I called around I was told she and a friend had mysteriously showed up and started begging residents to help them, often climbing pant legs and running into hands about a day ago. The solution was to put her and her friend "down by the creek" in the hopes that they would just go away.

My solution is to learn about rats, figure out how to degrease her without making her sick or causing a chill (do rats get those?), pick a proper habitat, and buy a rat ball so she can run around the apartment when Im home. Any advice for first timers is very much appreciated. I promise to read other threads within the community and educate myself as best I can. Thank you in advance!

EDIT: I know white bread isn't the best for my unnamed little one, but it calmed her enough to have her picture taken and sit still so I used it as a prop. Her diet is mostly fruits and vegetables as that's what I have in the house, so it'll be much healthier in the future.

Attachments

• IMG_0272 2.jpg
    IMG_0272 2.jpg
    96.6 KB · Views: 245
Dawn dish soap is great to use to bathe off grease and such.
Organic baby shampoo will also work.
Use warm water (not hot) and then try to dry her off as best as possible with towels. Hold her against you until she is mostly dry. Or at least have her in a warm room.