New boys! Older rat humping :(

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Venus_rat

Hi guys! It's been a while.
One of my rats died recently and left my year and a half old boy Nemo behind. So I got him two baby brothers (I'm not good with rat ages, but they're not old at all), Craig and Tweek. I introduced them and Nemo showed no aggression, groomed them, shared food, cuddles. Now all of a sudden, Nemo has been chasing them, mounting them, pinning them down and grooming them. I mean, it doesnt look aggressive, aside from the pinning them down and making them hold still part). They just squeak a **** ton and I dont like that he's mounting.

Heey, what kind of introduction method did you use? Did you use the carrier method? And at what stage in the introduction are they at the moment? As long as there is no blood, there is no foul, but it does sound like there is some dominant behavior showing. It might be worth it to take a step back in the intro and go back to a smaller enclosure if you are using the carrier method. How heavy are your little ones? It is generally advised to have the babies at least heavier them 200 grams before introduction, age doesn't matter too much, weight does

Hi! Thank you for responding! I used the carrier intro! I sectioned off half of their cage. They have access to a hammock too cause they were doing really well together until this.

I havent weighed them because I dont have access to one rn so I'm not sure.

Okay good to know! Do you habe any kitchen scales? I normally weigh mine just in a bowl on some kitchen scales. It might be worth checking to see if they are heavy enough to defend themselves. In the meantime, has anything more happened? It might be worth taking it one step back in the intros. I had my ratties a couple of hours in a small carrier box and that helped enormously with the rest of the intros.