Fat, protein and sugar.

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jorats

Loving rats since 2002.
I’ve been researching rat nutrition on and off for the last 6 years, ever since getting my first rats.
There are several factors that contribute to happy healthy ratties. Clean habitat, mental and physical stimulation, low caloric diet and proper nutrition.
It has been common practice to give rats a high protein diet. Mine didn’t do well on it, not only for the protein levels in dog food but also the lack of proper nutrients in a grain mix diet.
Following my vet’s advice and her top international exotic colleagues and an animal nutritionist, I switched my crew to a block specifically formulated for rats. But even then, it wasn’t good enough as most blocks have high protein and fat levels.

My research consisted of several links and articles.

Those that made an impact on me is the Nutrient Requirements of the Laboratory Rat.
http://books.nap.edu/openbook.php?recor ... 58&page=11" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

The China Study: the most comprehensive study on nutrition ever conducted by T. Colin Campbell
http://books.google.com/books?id=FIRLLc ... 0#PPA57,M1" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

The affect of sugar on the body:
http://www.healingcancernaturally.com/s ... discussion" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

FAT
It has been noted that rats fair better on a low fat diet. Research have shown that 5% dietary lipid is optimum for energy retention. Energy retention was smaller when decreased and increased, meaning, if the fat was less than 5% the rats had less energy but… if more than 5% again, they had less energy.
An experiment regarding mammary tumours and increased fat showed that mammary tumours are better nourished in rats fed a high fat diet.