Penny doing better. Had respiratory scare!

The Rat Shack Forum

Help Support The Rat Shack Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sheldon

Rataholic
I just want to make sure I'm doing everything right here. These are my first rats and this is my first time to have one look really sick.

Symptoms:
2 weeks-ish of mild lethargy. I thought she was just being slow and lazy bc she had put on a little weight.
Tonight I pull her out of the cage and her temp is cooler, piloerectus, congestion, squinting eyes. I listened to her and she sounds pretty clear except the nasal congestion. She is belly crawling and obviously does not feel good. I caught her propping her head to breathe better too. She did not even want to come out during playtime. Her color is still good and she's not terribly tachypnic so I don't really think it is an emergency. She is 9 mo old.

Actions taken:
Albuterol puffs through tp tube. First dose of doxy and baytril. Humidifier placed directly under cage with a little eucalyptus oil for the room. Drop of dark chocolate, which she gobbled up.

Anything else I need to do?

Sent from my KFTT using Tapatalk 2

Last edited:
Baytril and doxy are good, humidifier has to be outside the room if it is sonic cause it will hurt their ears (sound we cannot hear) and chocolate is bad for them despite what you hear (I asked my vet about this).

Healing vibes from all of us

Getting her meds is top priority, everything else is mostly to ease symptoms so you are doing a good job. I too agree that chocolate, even dark chocolate is not good for rats. In fact, even humans with asthma should stay way from even dark chocolate mainly due to the fact that it causes the effects of asthma medication to be heightened. Effects like headaches, irritability, nervousness and sleeplessness.
I also found this about chocolate: